Myrtle Beach reminding public golf carts are not permitted on primary roads. … Per state law, golf carts cannot operate on primary roads, including Kings Highway and U.S. 501. They are also not permitted on roads where the speed limit exceeds 35 miles per hour or in designated bicycle lanes.
When can you drive a golf cart on Myrtle Beach?
Golf carts are allowed to drive up to four miles from the address of the cart’s registration holder, or within four miles of the entrance of the gated community where the cart is registered. Anyone driving the cart must be at least 16 years old and have a valid driver’s license.
Can you take golf carts on the beach in Myrtle Beach?
Beach Rules & Regulations. Alcohol is prohibited on the beach and beach accesses. … No vehicles are allowed on the beach.
Can you drive a golf cart on Myrtle Beach Boardwalk?
* Golf cart: You don’t have to play golf to rent a golf cart in Myrtle Beach. State law allows golf carts on the roads under a few conditions: They must be operated by a licensed driver during daylight hours, within a 4-mile radius of your address, and only on streets with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or lower.
Can you drive a golf cart on the road in SC?
The golf cart may be operated on roads with posted speeds of 35 mph or less. … The golf cart may be operated during daylight hours only. The driver must be at least 16 years old with a valid driver’s license.
Where are golf carts allowed in Myrtle Beach?
Golf carts may be driven on secondary streets where the speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less, but not on primary streets (Kings Highway or US 501, for example). Golf carts may be driven only within four miles of the registered address, only during daylight hours and only by a licensed driver.
Can you drive a golf cart at night in Myrtle Beach?
Can I Drive a Golf Cart at Night in Myrtle Beach or North Myrtle Beach? No! Everything we went over above only applies to daylight operation. You can’t drive your golf cart at night even if you have headlights and taillights.
How do you make a golf cart street legal in South Carolina?
Golf carts must have a permit decal and proper registration issued from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Registration requires proof of ownership and liability insurance for the golf cart. The registration fee is $5. Permits are valid for 5 years or until the permit holder changes their address.
Is Myrtle Beach a golf cart community?
Golf carts are a fun and economical way to get around! Myrtle Beach is home to a large number of gated communities. Drive through these communities and you’re probably going to notice a lot of golf carts.
Can a golf cart drive on sand?
A golf car doesn’t necessarily need to have special tires to drive through areas of sand. In fact, if you want to drive your golf car through sand, you normally can as long as you lower your tire pressure in your current tires before doing so. … We recommend getting a set of all-terrain tires.
Can you drive a golf cart on the beach in Surfside Beach SC?
SURFSIDE BEACH, S.C. (WMBF) – Authorities in one part of the Grand Strand are reminding residents and visitors of state laws regarding golf carts and other low-speed vehicles. … In South Carolina, golf carts are allowed to be driven by licensed drivers during daylight hours only.
Are golf carts allowed in Surfside Beach SC?
A permitted golf cart may cross a highway or street at an intersection where the highway has a posted speed limit of more than thirty-five (35) miles an hour. A person operating a permitted golf cart must be at least sixteen (16) years of age and hold a valid driver’s license.
Is a golf cart an automobile?
According to the law, a golf cart is a vehicle that is intended to be driven on a golf course and should not exceed a maximum speed of 20 miles per hour. … The driver needs a valid driver’s license, registration, and vehicle insurance. Still, a golf cart is a motorized vehicle.
Are street legal golf carts safe?
Contrary to what the skeptics say, the new street legal golf carts available nowadays makes driving a golf cart way safer than before – as long as you know how to use it properly. The National Safety Council estimated 38,300 people were killed and 4.4 million were injured on US roads in 2015.
Do you have to pay property tax on a golf cart in South Carolina?
A golf cart now has to be permitted by the State of South Carolina, with a permit decal and proper registration issued from the Department of Motor Vehicles. … All validation decals will be issued for a period of 12 months, except for carts which do not require the payment of property taxes.